The Roundup – August 2018

0
146
The Eklektik - citrus tiramisu (Talyn Sherer | Slug Mag)
The Eklektik – citrus tiramisu (Talyn Sherer | Slug Mag)

Reviews and write ups

While the sun’s shining, people aren’t writing about food apparently; so after a July hiatus then, please welcome back The Roundup, a run down of every local review, writeup, podcast and more about the local food scene. A special mention should go out to the Redneck Food Rambles blog this month, who’s recent output has been nothing shirt of prolific. If you’ve ever wondered about this or that food truck, check out his blog… Bangkok Terrace (SLC) https://www.slugmag.com/food-reviews/holy-thai-basil-bangkok-terrace/ Cafe Madrid (Holladay) https://www.cityweekly.net/utah/spanish-fly/Content?oid=9962902 Clean Eats (Food Truck) https://redneckfoodrambles.wordpress.com/2018/07/25/cleaneats-food-truck/ Curry In A Hurry (SLC) https://www.cityweekly.net/utah/halal-in-the-family/Content?oid=9762709 DaKine Grindz (Food Truck) https://redneckfoodrambles.wordpress.com/2018/06/26/dakine-grindz-food-truck/ Dolce Sicilia (Sugar House) https://www.sltrib.com/artsliving/food/2018/06/25/utah-family-opens-italian-restaurant-number-3-bringing-pasta-seafood-and-other-sweet-sicily-flavors-to-sugar-house/ DP Cheesesteak (South Jordan) https://redneckfoodrambles.wordpress.com/2018/07/10/dp-cheesesteak-south-jordan-utah/ The Eklektik (SLC) https://www.slugmag.com/food-reviews/eklektik-bricolage-beehive/ El Morelense (West Valley City) https://801eats.com/2018/07/27/friday-feature-el-morelense/ El NeNe Sammy (Food Truck) https://redneckfoodrambles.wordpress.com/2018/08/08/el-nene-sammy-food-truck/
Mandarin (Val Phillips)
Mandarin (Val Phillips)
Facil Taqueria (Food Truck) https://redneckfoodrambles.wordpress.com/2018/06/27/facil-taqueria-food-truck/ Fat Boy Phillies (Murray) https://www.sltrib.com/news/2018/08/02/gee-whiz-salt-lake-citys/ Fuego (Food Truck) https://redneckfoodrambles.wordpress.com/2018/07/13/fuego-food-truck-2/ Mandarin (Bountiful) http://chewandchat.com/2018/08/mandarin-in-bountiful-farm-fresh-flavors.html On The Hook (Food Truck) https://redneckfoodrambles.wordpress.com/2018/07/17/on-the-hook-fish-and-chips-food-truck/ Pho 33 (Midvale) https://www.cityweekly.net/utah/broth-city/Content?oid=10090606 Rickles (Food Truck) https://redneckfoodrambles.wordpress.com/2018/07/10/rickles-food-truck-revisited/ Sauce Boss (Food Truck) https://redneckfoodrambles.wordpress.com/2018/06/22/sauce-boss-food-truck/
Terra Mia - shrimp alfredo (Redneck Food Rambles)
Terra Mia – shrimp alfredo (Redneck Food Rambles)
Smoke A Billy (Food Truck) https://redneckfoodrambles.wordpress.com/2018/07/17/smoke-a-billy-food-truck/ Tea Bar (Sugar House) https://801eats.com/2018/07/13/friday-feature-tea-bar/ Terra Mia (Draper) https://redneckfoodrambles.wordpress.com/2018/08/08/terra-mia-draper-utah-revisited/ Touch Of Polynesia (Food Truck) https://redneckfoodrambles.wordpress.com/2018/07/11/touch-of-polynesia-food-truck/ Vertical Diner (SLC) https://www.cityweekly.net/utah/the-dude-cakes-abide/Content?oid=9862060 Victor’s Tires And Restaurant (SLC) https://www.cityweekly.net/utah/tamales-tortas-and-tires/Content?oid=9508099
Crown Burgers - crown burger (The Beehive)
Crown Burgers – crown burger (The Beehive)

Mixed Bag

Chicken Sandwich Showdown https://slceats.com/2018/07/26/a-tale-of-two-crispies/ Cookies https://www.cityweekly.net/utah/get-these-cookies/Content?oid=9619311 Best St George Fries https://www.thespectrum.com/story/entertainment/dining/2018/07/03/who-has-best-french-fries-st-george/756202002/ Crown Burger https://www.thebeehive.com/crown-burger-and-the-case-for-kitsch/ Eat Here Now http://utahstories.com/2018/06/eat-here-now-five-outstanding-restaurants-to-visit-before-they-explode/ New Restaurants https://qsaltlake.com/news/2018/05/18/restaurants-review/

Podcasts

The Baking Hive http://www.utahfanclub.org/2018/07/29/salt-lake-county-the-baking-hive/

Food talk

Want to discuss this post or the SLC food scene in general? Check out our Facebook group and come talk with other likeminded SLC foodies.
This site is 100% free of intrusive third party ads through the generous headline sponsorship by The Gateway - SLC's premier entertainment destination.

This article may contain content provided by one of our Partners or Sponsors. These are some of the best businesses in Utah. The current businesses we work with include: Alamexo, The Angry Korean, Avenues Proper, BGR, Bourbon House, BTG Wine Bar, Caffe Molise, Cafe Niche, Campos Coffee, Current Fish & Oyster, Desert Edge Pub, Kyoto, Feldman's Deli, Log Haven, Meditrina, Oasis Cafe, Porch, Proper Burger, Proper Brewing Co, Saffron Valley, SLC Eatery,Stanza Italian Bistro, Vida Tequila, Vine Lore, Whiskey Street, White Horse. For a list of all our past relationships and timelines, please see our historical partnerships page.

Comment on this story...