The Roundup – June 2018

0
129
Fatboy Phillies - Philly cheesesteak (Redneck Food Rambles)
Fatboy Phillies – Philly cheesesteak (Redneck Food Rambles)
This month, a little more than twenty or so reviews of restaurants, food trucks, cafes and more that you need to know about around town. Particularly hot right now? Murray’s Fatboy Phillies seems to be the word on everyone’s lips, or should that be cheesesteaks in bellies. This modest newcomer on State Street is serving up some hefty looking cheesesteak sandwiches and most recently doubled down on their authenticity claims by importing authentic Amoroso rolls from back East. Lets just not get started on the American vs Whizz vs provolone debate…

Reviews and write ups

Alamexo Cantina (SLC) http://utahstories.com/2018/05/tasting-mexico-at-alamexo-cantina/ Biscott’s (Various) https://www.saltlakemagazine.com/sweet-endings-biscotts/ Chinese Taste (South Salt Lake) http://utahstories.com/2018/05/chinese-taste-authentic-chinese-bbq-more/ Family Squeezed Lemonade (Food Truck) https://redneckfoodrambles.wordpress.com/2018/05/04/family-squeezed-lemonade-thai-licious-food-trucks/ Fat Boy Phillies (Murray) https://redneckfoodrambles.wordpress.com/2018/05/21/fat-boy-phillies-murray-utah/ Fat Boy Phillies / Vito’s (Murray / Bountiful) http://utahstories.com/2018/05/a-cheesesteak-state-of-mind-two-under-the-radar-cheesesteak-emporiums/ Fireside On Regent (SLC) http://utahstories.com/2018/06/fireside-on-fire-at-regent-street/ Freshie’s Lobster Co (Park City) https://801eats.com/2018/05/25/friday-feature-freshies-lobster-co/ Hamachi (SLC) https://www.sltrib.com/artsliving/food/2018/06/06/at-salt-lake-citys-hamachi-grill-and-sushi-bar-fresh-fish-is-the-foundation-for-creative-rolls-and-bowls/
The Hungry Hawaiian (Talyn Sherer)
The Hungry Hawaiian (Talyn Sherer)
Hungry Hawaiian (Woods Cross) https://www.slugmag.com/food-reviews/hungry-hawaiian/ Mahider Ethiopian Restaurant (SLC) https://www.cityweekly.net/utah/hands-on-environment/Content?oid=9411250 Marquesas Corndogs (Food Truck) https://redneckfoodrambles.wordpress.com/2018/05/23/marquesas-corndogs-food-truck/ Oh Mai (South Jordan) https://redneckfoodrambles.wordpress.com/2018/06/04/oh-mai-vietnamese-sandwich-kitchen-south-jordan-revisited/ The Old Dutch Store (Millcreek) https://801eats.com/2018/06/22/friday-feature-the-old-dutch-store/ Prairie Schooner (Ogden) https://www.cityweekly.net/utah/big-kitsch-on-the-prairie/Content?oid=9298371 Rich’s Bagel (Holladay) https://801eats.com/2018/06/07/friday-feature-richs-bagel/ Robin’s Nest (SLC) https://www.cityweekly.net/utah/rockin-robin/Content?oid=9195442 Salt City Taco Co (Food Truck) https://redneckfoodrambles.wordpress.com/2018/06/15/salt-city-taco-co-formerly-taco-cartel-food-truck/ Samurai Noodle (Draper) https://redneckfoodrambles.wordpress.com/2018/05/14/samurai-noodle-draper-utah-another-visit-4/ Toasted Cheeser (Food Truck) https://redneckfoodrambles.wordpress.com/2018/05/26/toasted-cheeser-food-truck/
Twisted Fern - open faced short rib sandwich (Ted Scheffler)
Twisted Fern – open faced short rib sandwich (Ted Scheffler)
Twisted Fern (Park City) http://utahstories.com/2018/06/twisted-fern-park-citys-twisted-cuisine/ Veneto (SLC) https://straighttalkfood.com/2018/06/veneto-salt-lake-city-utah/ Wasatch Creamery (Heber) https://www.saltlakemagazine.com/sweet-endings-wasatch-creamery/

Podcasts

Buzzed Coffee (Food Truck) http://thenewutah.com/2018/06/08/episode-106-mobile-coffee-queen-of-salt-lake/ Downtown Farmers Market (SLC) http://thenewutah.com/2018/05/11/episode-102-behind-the-scenes-of-the-slc-downtown-farmers-market/ Ogden’s Own Distillery (Ogden) http://www.iamsaltlake.com/episode-332-timothy-smith-from-ogdens-own-distillery/ The Salsa Queen http://www.iamsaltlake.com/episode-330-the-salsa-queen/
Rico Cocina Y Cantina - salmon
Rico Cocina Y Cantina – salmon – 5 restaurants that need your love right now

Mixed Bag

5 Restaurants That Need Your Love https://www.saltlakemagazine.com/5-salt-lake-restaurants-deserve-love/ Patio Dining Northern Utah http://food.standard.net/2018/04/30/17-restaurants-bars-with-outdoor-seating-in-ogden-layton-farmington-more/ Top Northern Utah Donuts http://food.standard.net/2018/06/01/national-doughnut-day-top-8-places-to-get-a-doughnut-in-northern-utah/

Other

Bill White Farms http://utahstories.com/2018/06/bill-white-farms-products-for-people-not-corporate-profit/ Laziz Kitchen (SLC) https://www.cityweekly.net/utah/of-humans-and-hummus/Content?oid=9078049 Single Bite – Provisions https://www.saltlakemagazine.com/single-bite-duck-rolls/ Twin Suns https://www.sltrib.com/news/2018/05/23/the-force-is-strong-at-salt-lake-citys-new-twin-suns-cafe-where-star-wars-fans-can-eat-a-burrito-with-sith-sauce-and-admire-chewie-and-vader-memorabilia/

Food talk

Want to discuss this post or the SLC food scene in general? Check out our Facebook group and come talk with other likeminded SLC foodies.
This site is 100% free of intrusive third party ads through the generous headline sponsorship by The Gateway - SLC's premier entertainment destination.

This article may contain content provided by one of our Partners or Sponsors. These are some of the best businesses in Utah. The current businesses we work with include: Alamexo, The Angry Korean, Avenues Proper, BGR, Bourbon House, BTG Wine Bar, Caffe Molise, Cafe Niche, Campos Coffee, Current Fish & Oyster, Desert Edge Pub, Kyoto, Feldman's Deli, Log Haven, Meditrina, Oasis Cafe, Porch, Proper Burger, Proper Brewing Co, Saffron Valley, SLC Eatery,Stanza Italian Bistro, Vida Tequila, Vine Lore, Whiskey Street, White Horse. For a list of all our past relationships and timelines, please see our historical partnerships page.

Comment on this story...