Restaurant review roundup – November 2017

0
48
Alamexo Cantina - plantain cakes. Credit, SLC Eats
Alamexo Cantina – plantain cakes. Credit, SLC Eats
I’m guessing like me, you’re entering day three of turkey leftovers. Days four and five are looking more and more bleak. Each day gleeful deliciousness gives way to self loathing and a new found contempt for potatoes. Should you need a break then – from the endless replating of one day’s gluttony and over shopping – how about a meal out in the work? With that in mind, here’s the November edition of the restaurant review roundup; a collection of reviews, write-ups, podcasts and more – all focused on what’s going on in Utahs food scene right now. Put down the gravy and freshen up those tastebuds…

Reviews and write ups

Alamexo Cantina (SLC) https://slceats.com/2017/09/28/alamexo-cantina/ Alamexo Cantina (SLC) https://saltlakemagazine.com/dining-matt-lake-opened-alamexo-cantina/ Alamexo Cantina (SLC) https://www.cityweekly.net/utah/cantina-cuisine/Content?oid=5868286 Alamexo Cantina (SLC) https://801eats.com/2017/10/10/alamexo-cantina/ Cafe On Fire (Provo) https://www.cityweekly.net/utah/provo-persian/Content?oid=5772676 Carmine’s (Cottonwood Heights) http://www.sltrib.com/artsliving/2017/10/26/could-carmines-thrive-where-others-have-fizzled/ Carnegies Public House (SLC) http://www.sltrib.com/artsliving/food/2017/11/24/the-menu-at-carnegies-public-house-is-a-gamble-so-stick-with-the-pizza-and-other-wood-fired-entrees/ Celeste (Murray) https://www.cityweekly.net/utah/celebrating-celeste/Content?oid=6319181 Chakra Lounge (SLC) https://saltlakemagazine.com/chakra-lounge-bar-top-world/ European Tastees (SLC) http://utahstories.com/2017/11/european-tastees/ Fat Jack’s (SLC) http://www.sltrib.com/artsliving/food/2017/10/05/find-sinfully-good-burgers-at-fat-jacks-emporium-including-the-mormon-topped-with-funeral-potatoes/ Frida Bistro (SLC) https://www.slugmag.com/food-reviews/salud-life-tequila-mexican-fusion/
Ghidotti's - five dollar shrimp farfalle alfredo - Credit Chew And Chat
Ghidotti’s – five dollar shrimp farfalle alfredo – Credit Chew And Chat
Ghidotti’s (Park City) http://chewandchat.com/2017/10/checking-out-ghidottis-value-night-deal.html Howdy Homemade Ice Cream (SLC) https://slceats.com/2017/09/19/howdy-homemade-ice-cream/ Johnny Slice (SLC) https://slceats.com/2017/09/21/addendum-johnny-slice/ Pallet (SLC) https://www.slugmag.com/food-reviews/spooning-something-new/ Provisions (SLC) https://801eats.com/2017/10/03/provisions/ R&R BBQ (Farmington) http://chewandchat.com/2017/11/rr-bbq-opens-in-farmington.html Red Rock Brewery (SLC) http://fatkidapproved.blogspot.com/2017/10/fat-kid-reviews-red-rock-brewery.html Rowley’s Red Barn (Santaquin) http://chewandchat.com/2017/11/checking-out-rowleys-red-barn-in-santaquin.html Saffron Valley (Sugar House) https://www.cityweekly.net/utah/atypical-indian/Content?oid=6205296 Salsa Queen (SLC) http://utahstories.com/2017/11/utahs-salsa-queen/ Slapfish (Sandy) https://www.cityweekly.net/utah/come-on-get-slappy/Content?oid=6432411 Soy’s Sushi Bar And Grill (Murray) https://www.cityweekly.net/utah/the-joy-of-soy/Content?oid=5976079
Pallet - elk. Credit Slug Mag and Talyn Sherer
Pallet – elk. Credit Slug Mag and Talyn Sherer
Sugar House Coffee (Sugar House) http://utahstories.com/2017/09/standing-test-time-sugar-house-coffee Vive Juicery (SLC) http://www.femalefoodie.com/restaurant-reviews/salt-lake-city-vive-juicery/ We Olive (SLC) http://www.iheartsaltlake.com/2017/11/we-olive.html White Horse Spirits And Kitchen (SLC) http://www.femalefoodie.com/restaurant-reviews/utah/salt-lake-city/white-horse/ White Horse Spirits And Kitchen (SLC) http://www.sltrib.com/artsliving/food/2017/10/12/white-horse-spirits-and-kitchen-is-a-classy-addition-to-main-street-in-slc-but-be-prepared-to-wait/ Yoko Ramen (SLC) http://www.sltrib.com/artsliving/food/2017/11/03/when-its-cold-outside-yoko-ramen-in-salt-lake-city-has-the-big-bowls-of-steaming-soup-you-crave/

Mixed bag

Noodle News https://saltlakemagazine.com/noodle-news-ogden-slc/ Park City Shoulder Season https://slceats.com/2017/09/29/shoulder-season-in-park-city/ Top 10 Pasta Restaurants In SLC http://www.femalefoodie.com/restaurant-reviews/best-pasta-restaurants-salt-lake-city/ Where To Eat Now http://utahstories.com/2017/10/eat-now-4/

Podcasts

Cakewalk Vegan Bakery (SLC) http://www.iamsaltlake.com/episode-302-kelly-green-owner-cakewalk-vegan-bakery/ Tinkers Cat Cafe (SLC) http://www.iamsaltlake.com/episode-304-salt-lake-citys-first-cat-cafe/ Women In Brewing http://kcpw.org/blog/in-the-hive/2017-10-19/womens-role-american-craft-beer-brewing/
This site is 100% free of intrusive third party ads through the generous headline sponsorship by The Gateway - SLC's premier entertainment destination.

This article may contain content provided by one of our Partners or Sponsors. These are some of the best businesses in Utah. The current businesses we work with include: Alamexo, The Angry Korean, Avenues Proper, BGR, Bourbon House, BTG Wine Bar, Caffe Molise, Cafe Niche, Campos Coffee, Current Fish & Oyster, Desert Edge Pub, Kyoto, Feldman's Deli, Log Haven, Meditrina, Oasis Cafe, Porch, Proper Burger, Proper Brewing Co, Saffron Valley, Stanza Italian Bistro, Vida Tequila, Vine Lore, Whiskey Street, We Olive, White Horse. For a list of all our past relationships and timelines, please see our historical partnerships page.

Comment on this story...